News Release

Canadian securities regulators publish blanket relief for market participants due to COVID-19 ***UPDATE: CSA provides FAQs for further clarification

Mar 23, 2020

Toronto – Further to its announcement on March 18, the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published temporary blanket relief for market participants from certain regulatory filings, as a result of COVID-19. 

The blanket relief provides a 45-day extension for periodic filings normally required to be made by issuers, investment funds, registrants, certain regulated entities and designated rating organizations on or before June 1, 2020 and for certain other requirements outlined in the orders. Market participants need to comply with the conditions in the blanket relief to use the extension.

The CSA is implementing the relief through local blanket orders that are substantially harmonized across the country. Market participants can view these orders on CSA members’ websites and are encouraged to contact their principal regulator with any questions. 

The CSA is closely monitoring the situation and will consider whether further relief or extension is necessary.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

UPDATE: The CSA published Staff Notice 51-360 Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Filing Extension Relief Granted By Way Of A Blanket Order In Response To COVID-19 to provide further clarification.

-30-

For inquiries about filings for issuers, other than investment funds: 

Michael Bennett
Senior Legal Counsel, Corporate Finance
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-8079
mbennett@osc.gov.on.ca

Matthew Au
Senior Accountant, Corporate Finance
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-8132
mau@osc.gov.on.ca

Jan Mazur
Team Lead, Statutory Filings
Alberta Securities Commission
403-297-2091
jan.mazur@asc.ca

Tim Robson
Manager, Legal, Corporate Finance
Alberta Securities Commission
403-355-6297
timothy.robson@asc.ca

Martin Latulippe
Director, Continuous Disclosure
Autorité des marchés financiers
514-395-0337 ext. 4331
martin.latulippe@lautorite.qc.ca

Jody-Ann Edman
Manager, Financial Reporting
British Columbia Securities Commission
604-899-6698
jedman@bcsc.bc.ca

Heather Kuchuran, CPA, CA, CFA
Deputy Director, Corporate Finance
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan
306-787-1009
heather.kuchuran@gov.sk.ca

Wayne Bridgeman, CPA, CGA
Deputy Director, Corporate Finance
Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-4905
wayne.bridgeman@gov.mb.ca

Abel Lazarus
Director, Corporate Finance
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
902-424-6859
abel.lazarus@novascotia.ca

Rebecca Atkinson
Senior Legal Counsel
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick
506-658-3038
rebecca.atkinson@fcnb.ca


For inquiries about filings for investment funds:

Ritu D. Kalra CPA, CA, CFA
Senior Accountant,
Investment Funds and Structured Products Branch
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-8063
rkalra@osc.gov.on.ca

Irene Lee
Senior Legal Counsel, Investment Funds and
Structured Products Branch
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-3668
ilee@osc.gov.on.ca

Louis-Martin Ouellet
Acting Director, Investment Funds Oversight
Autorité des marchés financiers
514-395-0337 ext. 4496
louis-martin.ouellet@lautorite.qc.ca

Jason Alcorn
Senior Legal Counsel and
Special Advisor to the Executive Director
Financial and Consumer Services Commission,
New Brunswick
506-643-7857
jason.alcorn@fcnb.ca

Heather Kuchuran, CPA, CA, CFA
Deputy Director, Corporate Finance
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan
306-787-1009
heather.kuchuran@gov.sk.ca

Chad Conrad
Legal Counsel, Corporate Finance
Alberta Securities Commission
403-297-4295
chad.conrad@asc.ca

Donna Gouthro
Senior Securities Analyst
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
902-424-7077
donna.gouthro@novascotia.ca

Patrick Weeks
Corporate Finance Analyst
Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-3326
Patrick.weeks@gov.mb.ca


For inquiries about filings for registrants:

Anita Chung, CPA, CA, CFE
Registration Accountant,
Compliance & Registrant Regulation
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-8131
achung@osc.gov.on.ca

Mark French
Manager, Registration & Dealer Compliance
British Columbia Securities Commission
604-899-6856
mfrench@bcsc.bc.ca

Wendy Morgan
Deputy Director, Securities
Financial and Consumer Services Commission,
New Brunswick
506-643-7202
wendy.morgan@fcnb.ca

Liz Kutarna
Deputy Director,
Capital Markets Securities Division
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority
306-787-5871
liz.kutarna@gov.sk.ca

Paula White
Deputy Director, Compliance and Oversight
Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-5195
paula.white@gov.mb.ca

Sue Henderson
Deputy Director, Registrations
Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-1600
sue.henderson@gov.mb.ca

Ashley Lee
Regulatory Analyst, Registrant Regulation
Alberta Securities Commission
403-297-4009
ashley.Lee@asc.ca

Brian Murphy
Manager, Registration
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
902-424-4592
brian.murphy@novascotia.ca


For inquiries about filings for regulated entities:

Christopher Byers
Senior Legal Counsel, Market Regulation
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-2350
cbyers@osc.gov.on.ca

Claude Gatien
Advisor, Strategic Initiatives
Autorité des marchés financiers
514-395-0337 ext. 4341
claude.gatien@lautorite.qc.ca

Doug MacKay
Manager, Market and SRO Oversight
British Columbia Securities Commission
604-899-6609
dmackay@bcsc.bc.ca

Paula White
Deputy Director, Compliance and Oversight
Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-5195
paula.white@gov.mb.ca

Sonne Udemgba
Deputy Director Legal, Securities Division
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority
306-787-5879
sonne.udemgba@gov.sk.ca

Paula Kaner
Manager, Market Oversight
Alberta Securities Commission
403-355-6290
paula.kaner@asc.ca

For media inquiries, please refer to the list of provincial and territorial representatives below or contact us at media@acvm-csa.ca.

For more information:

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission
416-593-2336

Brian Kladko
British Columbia Securities Commission
604-899-6713

Jason Booth
The Manitoba Securities Commission
204-945-1660

Sara Wilson
Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick
506-643-7045

David Harrison
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
902-424-8586

Renée Dyer
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador
709-729-4909

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities
867-667-5466

Hilary McMeekin
Alberta Securities Commission
403-592-8186

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers
514-940-2176

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan
306-798-4160

Steven Dowling
Government of Prince Edward Island
Superintendent of Securities
902-368-4550

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office
867-975-6591

Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities,
Northwest Territories
867-767-9305